Workshops Follow-up

Today I met a professor from SKN, where I had presented and held workshops three time till now. She reminded me for more.

It also brings me back to posting here, reports of 2 workshops I had taken back in Impetus and Concepts,well basically~4

These were~
1. Blender ~ Chamba Chapter
This was a two day workshop on Blender, with a Film -Fest and an introduction to the Chamba Open Source Movie Project. It was fun! I started off as usual, and made the (trademarked, :-P) table modelling and other blender stuff.
There was good interaction with the crowd, it was a good experience to have people from college that were out of city, and mingle with them over the two days..Labeeb had joined me for the same.

2. Introduction to Indic Computing and Silpa Project “http://smc.org.in/silpa/”

Here I and Praveen just dropped in at the end, my friends Nikhil, Prajakta, Smriti had learned localization over weeks, and were guided by Santosh T(who’s a member of the Wikimedia Languauges Committee)
There were some question regarding JSON and Silpa in general which we tried to answer

3. InstallFest-
Well cant call this a workshop, but had set a days stall with good support from my juniors which hosted Chamba as a stall, and GNU/Linux InstallFest, we had laid cool stickers, and other stuff to roll out for free..

4.Android-
This was my one day attempt to teach the crowd, setting up the environment for Android(2.3/3.0).,moving around with the Architecture and the basics of Development.
I started off with a presentation, gave an overview of Android, moved across its environment, the command line, managing dvm, dvm debugger, and browsed through the various data over the Android image from command line.
Then I introduced image management.

I then moved to Resources and other contents of an Android project. Introduced with main.xml and actual coding of Activity.

I started coding a simple hello world application and then a converter(First steps first)

All in all, I tried completing:
1. Activity
2. Services
3. Intents
4. SQLite Database Access
5. Showed creating Alarms

To round up I showed the creation of a NotePad and a Twitter App in Android.

It was a good experience to teach such a technology for the first time(which was not just Linux i mean!)

–More to come~other workshop and seminar experiences–

Leave a Reply

